Here’s what happens when you block a phone number on your Samsung Galaxy S10

Thanks to modern phenomenon like telemarketers and robocalling, we now live in a world where the ability to block phone numbers is virtually a necessity.

If you find the need to block a number on your Samsung Galaxy, you can do that by following the instructions in the article, " How to block specific phone numbers or all unknown callers on your Samsung Galaxy phone."

You can add phone numbers to the Block numbers page or just tap "Block" at the bottom of the contacts page.

Dave Johnson/Business Insider

If you're thinking about blocking a number on your Samsung Galaxy S10, here's what will happen if you do so.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

Galaxy S10 (From $849.99 at Best Buy)

What happens when you block a number on a Samsung Galaxy S10

Simply put, after you block a number, that caller can no longer reach you. Phone calls do not ring through to your phone, and text messages are not received or stored.

This is an important point because if you change your mind and want to unblock the caller, you can, but any calls or texts which happened while the number was blocked will not be recovered. All new calls and texts, however, will now arrive on your phone normally.

Even if you have blocked a phone number, you can make calls and text that number normally – the block only goes in one direction. The recipient will receive calls and can answer and communicate with you.

The recipient will also receive your text messages, but will not be able to effectively respond, since you won't receive incoming texts from the number you've blocked. If you do want to communicate with this person, you may want to unblock the phone number.

If you want to unblock a phone number, remove it from the bottom of the Block numbers page.

Dave Johnson/Business Insider

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *